Apollo Missions

Apollo 1

Launch: - (scheduled for 21.2.1967)

Crew: Virgil Grissom, Ed White, Roger Chaffee

Mission: ?

Duration: -


Apollo 1 crew were tragically lost in fire during pre-launch test on January 27th 1967

Apollo 4

Launch: 09.11.1967

Crew: none

Mission: Demonstrate structural and thermal integrity of launch vehicle and spacecraft.

Duration: 8 h 36 min 59 s


First unmanned flight test of the newly developed Saturn-V rocket. It was a success despite computer failure and fuel leak during the flight.

Apollo 5

Launch: 22.01.1968

Crew: none

Mission: first unmanned flight test of the Lunar Module in earth orbit.

Duration: 8 h 36 min 59 s


The rocket used was a scaled down version of the Saturn V: the Saturn IB. Apollo 5 caught

up on some of Apollo 1's flight tests.

Apollo 6

Launch: 04.04.1968

Crew: none

Mission: Demonstrate structure and thermal integrity and compatibility of launch vehicle and spacecraft. Verify operation of Saturn V propulsion, guidance and control, and electrical systems.

Duration: 10 h 22 min 59 s


Second unmanned flight of Saturn V. Early cutoff of S-II engines and overburn of S-IVB engine caused unplanned elliptical orbit.

Apollo 7

Launch: 11.10.1968

Crew: Walter M. Schirra, Don F. Eisele, Walter Cunningham

Mission: first manned mission, 163 earth orbits

Duration: 10 Days 20 h 9 min


Flight with Saturn IB.

Apollo 8

Launch: 21.12.1968

Crew: Frank Bormann, James A. Lovell, William A. Anders

Mission: Mondumfliegung

Duration: 6 Days 3 h 42 s


first manned lunar orbit (with Saturn V)

Apollo 9

Launch: 03.03.1969

Crew: James A. McDivitt, David R. Scott, Russel L. Schweickart

Mission: Start of a complete moon flight system in a earth orbit, 151 earth orbits

Duration: 10 Days 1 h 53 s

Lunar Module: Spider

Command and Service Module: Gumdrop


Coupling of Service Module with Lunar Module in a earth orbit.

Apollo 10

Launch: 15.05.1969

Crew: Thomas P. Stafford, John W. Young, Eugene A. Cernan

Mission: first flight to a lunar orbit and simulating the application of the lunar module

Duration: 8 Days 3 min 23 s

Lunar Module: Snoopy

Command and Service Module: Charlie Brown


Lunar Module with astronauts Stafford and Young converged up to 14 kilometers to the

lunar surface

Apollo 11

Launch: 16.07.1969 9.32 Uhr

Crew: Neil A. Armstrong, Michael Collins, Edwin "Buzz" Aldrin

Landed on Moon: 20. Juli 1969

First step: 02:56:15 UT July 21, 1969

Landing site: Mare Tranquillitatis (0.67° N, 23.47° E)

Returned to Earth: 24. Juli 1969

Duration: 8 Days 3 h 18 min 35 sec

Lunar Module: Eagle

Command and Service Module: Columbia


First Lunar Landing Mission, one excursion with total time of 2 hours and 15 minutes

Apollo 12

Launch: 14.11.1969

Crew: Charles Conrad, Richard F. Gordon, Alan L. Bean

Landed on Moon: 19. November 1969

Landing site: Oceanus Procellarum (3.01° S, 23.42° W), with distance of only only 183m

from the Surveyor III spacecraft.

Returned to Earth: 24. November 1969

Duration: 10 Days 4 h 36 min 24 s

Stay on the moon: 31 h 31 min

Lunar Module: Intrepid

Command and Service Module: Yankee Clipper


Two excursions with total time of 7 hours and 39 minutes.

Apollo 12's mission almost ended seconds after launch. Saturn rocket hit by lightning twice, 32 sec. and 52 sec. after launch temporarily cutting electrical power and telemetry. Seconds after it was up again, Houston decided to continue the mission.

Apollo 13

Launch: 11.04.1970

Crew: James A. Lovell, John L. Swigert, Fred W. Haise

Duration: 5 Days 22 h 54 min 41 s

Lunar Module: Aquarius

Command and Service Module: Odyssey


Explosion in one of the oxygen tanks on the way to the moon, no landing on the moon.

Apollo 14

Launch: 31.01.1971

Crew: Alan B. Shepard, Stuart A. Roosa, Edgar D. Mitchell

Landed on Moon: 5. Februar 1971

Landing site: Fra Mauro (3.65° S, 17.47° W)

Returned to Earth: 9. February 1971

Duration: 9 Days 0 h 42 m

Stay on the moon: 33 h 31 min

Lunar Module: Antares

Command and Service Module: Kitty Hawk


Two excursions with total time of 9 hours and 25 minutes.

Apollo 15

Launch: 26.07.1971

Crew: David R. Scott, Alfred M. Worden, James B. Irwin

Landed on Moon: 30. Juli 1971

Landing site: Hadley-Rille / Apenninen (26.13° N, 3.63° E)

Returned to Earth: 7. August 1971

Duration: 12 Days 7 h 11 min 53s

Stay on the moon: 66 h 55 min

Lunar Module: Falcon

Command and Service Module: Endeavour


Three excursions with total time of 18 hours and 36 minutes, first mission with Lunar

Roving Vehicle.

Apollo 16

Launch: 16.04.1972

Crew: John Young, Thomas Mattingly, Charles Duke

Landed on Moon: 21. April 1972

Landing site: Descartes (8.99° S, 15.49° E)

Returned to Earth: 27. April 1972

Duration: 11 Days 1 h 51 min 5 s

Stay on the moon: 71 h 2 min

Lunar Module: Orion

Command and Service Module: Casper


Three excursions with total time of 20 hours and 14 minutes, with the Lunar Roving Vehicle too.

Apollo 17

Launch: 06.12.1972

Crew: Eugene A. Cernan, Ronald E. Evans, Harrison H. Schmitt

Landed on Moon: 11. December 1972

Landing site: Taurus-Littrow (20.18° N, 30.76° E)

Returned to Earth: 19. December 1972

Duration: 12 Days 13 h 51 m

Stay on the moon: 75 h 0 min

Lunar Module: Challenger

Command and Service Module: America


Three two excursions with total time of 22 hours and 6 minutes, using the Lunar Roving Vehicle too.

Apollo-Sojus (ASTP)

Launch: 15. July 1975

Crew: Thomas Stafford, Vance Brand, Donald Slayton

Duration: 12 Days 13 h 51 m


Rendezvous of the separately launched Apollo-Capsule with Soyus 19 (Crew: Alexej A.

Leonow and Valerij N. Kubasow) in earth orbit.

The rocket was a Saturn IB for the last time.

Apollo 18 - 20

Originally three more mission should have been performed: Apollo 18, 19 and 20. These were cancelled because of shortenings in NASA's budget.

To preserve at least the successor program Skylab, NASA first cancelled Apollo 20 in January 1970 and then in September Apollo 15 and 19. The remaining missions were renumbered to 15-17.

The following astronauts were expected to take off with Apollo 18-20:

Apollo 18

Commandant: Richard Gordon

Pilot: Vance Brand

Pilot of Lunar Module: Harrison H. Schmitt

Apollo 19

Commandant: Fred W. Haise

Pilot: Willam Pogue

Pilot of Lunar Module: Gerald Carr

Apollo 20

Commandant: Charles Conrad or Stuart Roosa

Pilot: Paul Weitz

Pilot of Lunar Module: Jack Lousma

Harrison Schmitt became Apollo 17's pilot of the Lunar Module after his mission was cancelled. He replaced Joe Engle who commanded two Shuttle missions.

Vance Brand took part in the Apollo-Soyus (ASTP) and three Shuttle missions.

Charles Conrad and Paul Weitz were the first crew on Skylab.

Jack Lousma was a member of the second Skylab mission, William Pogue and Gerald Carr of the third.